Scholarly resource provides indexing and abstracts for more than 8,300 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals.
Rhode Island’s Online Reference Center provided by Providence Public Library with the support of OLIS (Office of Library and Information Services). Students, jobseekers, librarians and educators, and the curious can all reach the information they need. Includes Homework help, World Book Encyclopedia, Mango Languages, and much more. Free for Rhode Island residents.
DIY auto repair from EBSCO. Repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. New repair procedures, TSBs, and updates are added on a regular basis. All content has been created by ASE certified technicians.
Biography Reference Center provides thousands of reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography Today and Biography, plus narrative biographies not available in other databases. In addition to keyword search, users can browse biographies by reading level indicators (Lexiles), source types, subject occupation, nationality, activity, gender, lifespan and more.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. New England historic newspapers, including Rhode Island, are included. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.
Easily accessible and understandable health and medical information for the everyday consumer. Search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
Search and scan through a vast, openly available collection of American items, including books, documents, works of art, science, and records of America’s heritage. Search millions of items by timeline, map, format, subject, and partner.
An online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
A single search box for direct access to full-text content available through AskRI databases.
Offers access to education literature and resources. Database contains more than 1,243,000 records and links to more than 224,000 full-text documents.
Features over 25,000 informative segments of the encyclopedia, with alphabetically arranged articles, illustrations and maps. Updated annually.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is an eBook collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials are searchable and indexed with full-text entries. You have the ability to print, download, cite, and email from the database. Remote password: 21332. [Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).]
Includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Comprehensive full-text history reference database, featuring full text for more than 2,400 reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books. Includes more than 61,100 historical documents; 66,000 historical biographies; more than 110,200 photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Full-text database of more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism; more than 252,000 author biographies; also includes over 693,000 book reviews, author interviews and information on classic and contemporary poems, short stories, classic texts and more.
Contains the full text for nearly 1,750 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Includes full text for nearly 500 reference books, 86,017 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an image collection of 341,655 photo, maps and flags.
The place to start for quality health information in both English and Spanish. The site offers hundreds of health topics, drug information, interactive health check tools, surgery videos, and much more.
Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 – today. Heritage Hub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images. Access is available 24/7.
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is the government's premier source of career guidance featuring hundreds of occupations. It includes information about the nature of work, working conditions, training and education, earnings and job outlook for hundreds of different occupations in the United States. Provided by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Get the CareerInfo app for the Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH), available for iOS and for Android devices.
Contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images - no need for attribution. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to more than 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from the Smithsonian collections. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
StampWorld.com is a complete online catalogue of all the stamps that has ever been made in the world. It's a meeting place where users can get to know all about stamp collecting. A place to discuss and buy/sell stamps. You can either browse and search the website, or create a free account. There is a cost if you would like to upgrade your membership.
Current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms.
Code of the Town of Barrington, RI. Print edition available at the reference desk.
Wolfram Alpha is a computational search engine, or "answer engine.” Search box accepts natural language input in keyword, phrase, or sentence format, as well as mathematical equations. Information provided by subject specialists and field professionals.
World Book offers an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides.
Numismatic coins catalog with images and descriptions, coins price guide, coins values.